To thine own self be true…

 

Hate, hate your enemies. Save, save your friends. Find, find your place. Speak, speak the truth.

Hate, hate your enemies.

Save, save your friends.

Find, find your place.

Speak, speak the truth.

 

 

I want to be remembered for authenticity.

I want to be remembered as the girl that did not speak crap, that stood up for what she believed in and spoke her mind.

I have always been completely honest, forthcoming and straight up. This has often been detrimental to me. I have lost friendships, become distanced from people. All this because I am too honest.

People do not like honesty. It’s always part of the pick-up (“I just want an honest man”, “I like my friends to have certain qualities, like honesty”).

I call bullshit.

I can guarantee each every reader out there the following:

* If you tell someone something that does not fit in with their perception of you, they will distance themselves.

* If you reveal an uncomfortable truth, your true friends will number in the single digits.

* Being honest about what you need or want can alienate people. Only the true ones will remain.

* Only you can be responsible for your own happiness, ethical comfort or achievements. Relieve yourself of dead wood.

Move into the future, realising that you are alone in your quest for self.

There are far fewer people than you think that are interested in helping you, aiding you or supporting you.

It’s a New Year.

Acknowledge that your journey with some people ends in 2010. After all, it is most important to be honest with yourself.

Powered by Plinky

About this entry