“She don’t eat meat but she sure likes the bone…”

After watching the film “Oceans”  (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0765128/) – in the original French, naturellement – and reading the book “My Year Of Meat” (http://www.ruthozeki.com/meats/conversation.html), I realized that I can not, in good conscience, continue to eat meat.

 

Yes, I  the sushi-lover and devourer of rare fillet `steak (no seasoning), have not let meat, fish or chicken pass my lips for the past week. I was disgusted when I had to eat some spaghetti bolognaise that had been left over – the meat tasted like death and sadness. I don’t even feel super-tempted towards sushi anymore…a little, but not enough to warrant the loss of life.

 

I have therefore become vegetarian – it’s nowhere near the tragedy that everyone pretends it is. I feel better (morally, physically and mentally) and I’ve started making other changes to be more environmentally friendly. I’ve planted a herb and tomato garden (basil, parsley and roma) and I don’t buy eggs unless they are free-range at least.

 

Small changes count – if everyone makes a small effort, it won’t be left up to a few to make large sacrifices.

 

My own little herb garden...

About this entry